No, he did not. From the same link you provided for your source:
The key factor here is what Bubba was moving prior to taking his stance — pine straw and leaves. These objects are all loose impediments, according to the USGA. By definition, loose impediments are natural objects that are not attached in any way to the golf course. As Rule 23-1 states, "Except when both the loose impediment and the ball lie in or touch the same hazard, any loose impediment may be removed without penalty." So there you have it, Rule 13-2 does not prohibit the movement of loose impediments, and Rule 23-1 specifically allows their movement. So, there is no controversy here, folks. Please move along.
Congratulations to Bubba - a fine young man.
I would rather have thirty minutes of wonderful than a lifetime of nothing special.